Modernist Mid-Cent Vase - Kaolin /White Clay -Signed VV

4 posters

Go down

Modernist Mid-Cent Vase - Kaolin /White Clay -Signed VV   Empty Modernist Mid-Cent Vase - Kaolin /White Clay -Signed VV

Post by MirnaMinkoff Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:49 pm

Ok, one more try and my last. Here is a grey vase I have that is 12 inches high, beautifully done. They grey glaze looks simple until you inspect it closely and see beautiful earthen pink undertones and other interesting textures. I love the shape as well. I believe the vase is made, at least partially, of kaolin clay because it's the only piece I have with such a stark white color on the bottom. (But I'm no expert on clay types, just can generally discern it. Please correct me if someone here recognizes it as some other type of clay.) I don't know where this comes from. I bought it at an American flea-market, of items that had been found in storage from a large estate that had a lot of great examples of art, pottery, art deco glass and modern furniture.

There is a signature on the bottom done in dark blue glaze. it appears to be to be two letter "V"s but could be a "W" or a symbol. There is also a small incised mark that looks like a "6" or a swirl but this could just be part of the finished touches on the bottom - a deep cut part of the swirl line done on the base.

Modernist Mid-Cent Vase - Kaolin /White Clay -Signed VV   Grey_v11

Signature on Bottom
Modernist Mid-Cent Vase - Kaolin /White Clay -Signed VV   Grey_v10

I'm hoping for a miracle, because my batting average on this forum so far has been 0. Any help or input as always is very much appreciated. Also, I thank everyone on the forum who has looked at, and especially posted on the few ID threads I've posted. I hope I can be helpful to others here as time goes on because this is a great forum. Just reading old posts is helping me learn a lot.
MirnaMinkoff
MirnaMinkoff

Number of posts : 56
Registration date : 2012-12-10

Back to top Go down