Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase

4 posters

Go down

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase Empty Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase

Post by scolada October 7th 2015, 3:48 pm

Hello All,

Wondering if someone could help me today with a beautiful vase that I just picked up. It doesn't appear to be signed from what I can see although it is marked with a couple of numbers which aren't helping me but I'm trying to narrow things sown a bit. I think its majolica and it could be barbotine but I'm no expert and was hoping someone could chime in with any ideas. Perhaps someone has seen something similar? I was thinking perhaps French or Austrian. Thanks in advance for any tips you could give.

Scott.

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2723

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2724

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2725

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2726

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2727

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase IMG_2728

scolada
scolada

Number of posts : 48
Registration date : 2015-02-17

Back to top Go down

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase Empty Re: Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase

Post by NaomiM October 7th 2015, 3:56 pm

My first thought was Austrian, but I'm afraid I can't narrow down the factory on just numbers, which I assume are pattern/shape numbers.
Also the face and arms look like they've been over painted. Has a previous owner given it a paint job?

Administrator
Administrator

Female Number of posts : 31289
Registration date : 2012-05-15

http://bispm.co.uk/

Back to top Go down

Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase Empty Re: Large Majolica Barbotine hand painted vase

Post by denbydump October 7th 2015, 3:57 pm

Not exactly Barbotine, but yes Majolica. Continental, could also be German.
denbydump
denbydump
Consultant
Consultant

Number of posts : 7189
Registration date : 2014-06-01